The 2021 Stella Prize

We are delighted to announce that the 2021 Stella Prize is now open for entries. 

Each year, The Stella Prize awards one author with a $50,000 prize, thanks in 2021 to the generous support of the Wilson Foundation. Both nonfiction and fiction books by women writers, and non-binary writers, are eligible for entry. Books entered in the 2021 Stella Prize must be first published between 1 January 2020 and 31 December 2020. 

Discounted early-bird entries may be submitted until 5pm AEST Wednesday 2 September.

General entries open on Thursday 3 September and all entries close at 5pm AEST on Friday 2 October.

Entries can be completed via the official entry form. Please read the full submission guidelines before submitting to the 2021 Stella Prize.

We’re thrilled to reveal the multitalented 2021 Stella Prize judging panel: memoirist and editor Zoya Patel (Chair); playwright, author and Blak & Bright First Nations Literary Festival Director Jane Harrison; 3RRR radio producer, presenter and literary critic Elizabeth McCarthy;  production editor of The Saturday Paper Ian See; and Deputy Programme Director at Edinburgh Book Festival Tamara Zimet. Together, they will read a selection of the best in Australian literature to determine the next winner of the Stella Prize. 

The winner of the 2021 Stella Prize will join eight years’ worth of Stella alumni, or as Jess Hill said in her 2020 acceptance speech, “…a group of writers at the height of their craft.” 

We look forward to announcing the 2021 Stella Prize longlist and shortlist in March, and the winner in April.